Shauna’s Weblog

Archive for October 23rd, 2008

After listening to Allyssa music it seems as if I have alot in common with her. First song she played for me was a Jay Z song and I actually liked it. I like Jay Z music but he is not one of my favorites but this song sounded nice, I thought it was Ushers song. I think I might put that on my ipod with my slow songs I like. The second song was one of my favorites singers Gavin Degraw about the girl he knows something something(I don’t really know the words). Then I found out we watch the same show and that she actually had the honors of meeting Gavin. She is so lucky and this showed we like some of the same things.

At first I listened to this slow song with Flo Rida rapping and I liked it. I actually think I heard that song before. Well anyway after listening to the first song I assumed that he has a nice sweet side, and the song showed that. It was like a song you listen to when your thinking about a girl or just in the mood for slow song. The second song was very different it was a old rap song with alot of cursing. This showed me he like any other boy he likes that ruff stuff, like hardcore rap that stuff that makes you a little scared.

I have no idae where Iam going with this essay. I have so many iddeas that I can choose from and Idont know where I am going with it. I think I said that twice. I dont know my brain is very cluttered but I am going to try to stay focused. I wanted to persuade my cousin to be grateful for his ears because they are very important and some people dont have the sense of hearing. I want ed to show him how important it was through my essay . When I was blogging a couple of hours ago I realized that was a hard topisc and my thoughts were not coming together like I wanted them to. So after doing this concept map, whatever  you call it, I realized that I have alot of ideas in my head that are way better like maybe How can deaf people hear music? Is that even possible for them to do because it does not make sense to me.

This blog is intended for my cousin to read and hopefully take into consideration, maybe after he reads this he will know how serious deafness can be. I hope to accomplish writing a blog that shows how listening to music at high volume can affect you later. This is a persuassive genre and this writing serves as a wake up call for my cousin.

My cousin recently lost his hearing in his left ear and had surgery to regain his hearing again. The doctor could not tell him the exact reason why one eardrum went out but told him that excessive loud volumes could have helped. Chris listens to everything very loud, music, the television, his game. My grandma always told him that one day he is going to regret it but Chris never listened. Ackerman says in A Natural History of The Sense,” But many teenagers like to listen to music played at such high and distorting level

After a while we started to notice a change in his hearing. His mom would call him and he could barely hear her, then I noticed he plays his music even louder in the car.

MLA

The close relationship of tastes to smell gives the impression that a greater variety of taste exist(“Taste”).

Smell contributes grandly to taste. Without smell, wine would still dizzy and lull us, but more captivation would be gone(141).

Work Cited
Ackerman,Diane.The Natural History of The Sense. New York: Random House,1990.

“Taste”. The Columbia Encyclopedia.Columbia University Press: Sixth Edition Copyright, 2004.

APA

According to Ackerman(1990),” Touch is a sensory system, the influence of which is hard to isolate or eliminate”(p.77).

Field says that “These improvements translated into a savings of $3000 per hospital stay for preemies in the massage therapy group”.

References
Ackerman, D. (1990). “Touch”. A Natural History of The Senses, 77,

Field, T. M. (1998). Massage therapy effects. American Psychologist, 53 (12), 1270-1281.


October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031